Top Ad 728x90

Tuesday, August 14, 2018

Governor’s Cup unfolds August 18

ROXAS City, Capiz – Finishing touches are being done at the newly constructed covered gym of Don Ynocenco Del Rosario Memorial School (DYDRMS) in Barangay Dayao here in preparation for the Governor’s Cup Aksyon Agad Inter-Cluster Barangay Basketball Tournament, on August 18, 2018.

Twelve cluster teams from the 47 barangays of Roxas City will join the much-awaited basketball event of the year in Roxas City and Capiz province.

According to Sangguniang Kabataan (SK) chairman Adrian Eduard Apa-ap of Lawaan village, “the Governor’s Cup is a venue to all potential cagers in Roxas City to showcase their talents.”

Apa-ap added that the “youth are very thankful for the support of Capiz Governor Tony Del Rosario and the Provincial Government of Capiz for the free team uniforms, officiating and venue, as well as to the brilliant ideas of our tournament project director Atty. Ronnie T. Dadivas.”

The tournament is designed for SK members 30 years old and below.

Dadivas, Provincial Legal Counsel and GAD focal person, said: “it is a basketball of challenge, development, and sportsmanship.”

He added that “every basketball game reminds me a lot of hard court memories.”

Dadivas is a former standout player of Saint Mary’s Academy of Capiz during his secondary years and a slam-dunk artist during his college prime and commercial league days.

“This is a nice spot for young and promising dribblers to prove their worth as a cager and it is a great break to be scouted by colleges, universities, and commercial ball clubs,” Dadivas averred.

The 12 teams that will see action on the hard court are Cluster-I (Cogon, Dumolog, Gabuan and Punta Cogon), Cluster-II (Banica, Culajao, Mongpong and Olotayan), Cluster-III (Bato, Milibili, Tanza and Tiza), Cluster-IV (Adlawan, Bago, Bolo and Loctugan), Cluster-V (Jumaguicjic, Lanot, Liong and San Jose), Cluster-VI (Cabugao, Dinginan, Lawaan and Lonoy), Cluster-VII (Balijuagan, Cagay, Sibaguan and Talon), Cluster-VIII (Brgy. III, Brgy. IX, Brgy. X and Punta Tabuc), Cluster-IX (Brgy. V, Brgy. VI, Brgy. VII and Inzo Arnaldo Village), Cluster-X (Barra, Culasi, Dayao and Libas), Cluster-XI (Brgy. II, Brgy. IV, Brgy. XI and Tanque), and Cluster-XII (Brgy. I, Brgy. VIII and Baybay). (CANC/Edward Basilonia)


Post a Comment

Top Ad 728x90