Top Ad 728x90

Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Third district in Capiz?


ROXAS City – Capiz governor Antonio del Rosario supports for the idea of creating another legislative district in the province but said it will be a “long process.”

This will bring more infrastructure development in the province,” del Rosario said.

Capiz currently has two existing districts.

A Philippine Statistics Authority census in 2015 showed that Capiz has a population of 761,384.

Article 6, Section 5 (3) of the Constitution states that, “Each legislative district shall comprise, as far as practicable, contiguous, compact, and adjacent territory. Each city with a population of at least two hundred fifty thousand, or each province, shall have at least one representative.”

But according to del Rosario, creating another legislative district “entails a very long and tedious process.”

The plan of creating a third district is not new to me as it has long been conceptualized, but the idea was not realized because of the many requisites under the law,” del Rosario added.

A total of six municipalities (Maayon, Panay, Panitan, Pilar, Pontevedra, President Roxas) and this capital city comprise the 1st District of Capiz while 10 towns (Cuartero, Dao, Dumalag, Dumarao, Ivisan, Jamindan, Mambusao, Sapian, Sigma, Tapaz) make up the 2nd District.

Rep. Emmanuel Billones (Capiz, 1st District) also supports the idea.

Billones said it will bring more improvements in Capiz but added that “we need to consider the sentiments of the public through consultation.” GLENN BEUP/PN


Post a Comment

Top Ad 728x90